New DMV Rules to Know

Educational Forum Hosted by San Gabriel Chamber of Commerce
March 19, 2019
SSDI Attorneys in Southern California
Applying for SSDI Benefits
March 27, 2019

New DMV Rules to Know

Several new DMV regulations have taken affect this year.  If you’re not yet familiar with the changes, now is a good time to catch up!

Vehicles: bicycle helmets
Safety helmets are no longer legally required for adults over the age of 18 while riding a bicycle, scooter, roller skates, or skateboard.  Children under the age of 18 caught without a helmet will receive a warning, or fix-it ticket.  Parents of these children can avoid a fine by proving the child has an appropriate helmet and have completed a bicycle safety course within 120 days.

Vehicles: temporary license plates
All new and used vehicles purchased in the state of California will now be required to have temporary paper license plates before leaving a dealership lot.  Each temporary license plate will be unique and have an expiration date.

Gender identity: female, male, or nonbinary
When applying for driver licenses and ID cards, applicants can choose male, female, or nonbinary.  The designation will be listed as M, F, or X respectively.

Driving under the influence: ignition interlock device
Repeat DUI offenders and first-time DUI offenders who caused injury are now required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) for 12 to 48 months if their DUI charge involved alcohol.  A judge also has discretion to order a first-time DUI offender who didn’t injure anyone to install an IID for up to six months.

Driving privilege: minors
Juvenile courts can no longer revoke, restrict, or delay the issuance of a driver license as punishment.  This change was not retroactive.

Vehicles: unsafe, unsecured load
Existing law already states that vehicle loads must be covered or secured.  This new law adds a question related to unsecured cargo loads to DMV tests that must be asked at least 20 percent of the time.

Smog check: exemption
Smog check exemptions are now for vehicles up to eight model years old, instead of the previous six.  In year seven and eight, the smog abatement fee becomes $25.

Vehicles: high-occupancy vehicle lanes
Green and white HOV decals are no longer valid.  If a vehicle was issued a green or white decal after January 1, 2017, it is eligible for a red decal.  Red decals have HOV lane access until January 1, 2022.  Purple decals are being issued in 2019, which will be eligible for HOV lanes until January 1, 2023.

For more information about these changes in the law, please visit the DMV website.

If you or someone you know has been injured in an auto accident, contact the Law Offices of Scott Warmuth today at 888-517-9888 for a free consultation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

626-208-9313
877-655-5767
X